Good vibes…

OK, it looks like I have 9 people who will read!  I don’t want to let anyone down, so y’all….I am a believer of good vibes.  I am a “go with your gut” kind of gal.  Once something feels right, I’m in.  That’s kinda how I scored this adorable little casa of mine.  After the big D, I was living in a rental house in our quaint (overpriced) village.  I was kinda hating the thought of throwing away money every month on rent when I could probably be spending less by buying a place.  I drove by this house on the corner everyday on the way out of the neighborhood and one day a FOR SALE sign popped up in the front yard.  I realtor.commed that biotch right away and found out it was priced in a range that would make my mortgage half of my monthly rent.  Say whaaaaat?!?! So, I called on my realtor/friend/current mentor (more on that later) and next thing you know, we’re walking in the front door.  Now. This house wasn’t much from the pictures.  It was small and dated and I knew it would take some work to get it to a place that I would want to call home.  So we didn’t go busting through that front door expecting to find my dream home on the other side.  What we did find, however, was a lovely little place.  And I looked at my friend, who looked at me, and I think we both thought, well…this isn’t so bad!  What I felt the most while I walked through that first time was love.  and comfort.  and I’ll tell you, by God, I got all warm and fuzzy on the inside.  And in that moment, I thought, this place has some serious potential!  So…we wrote an offer.  They came back with some weird addendums.  I walked away.  And I looked for other places and thought outside the box.  I waited for a while, but I just kept going back to this house in my head.  It was cheap.  It was close to Main Street.  It had a killer backyard.  And it was loved.  It just felt….well, right.  And I really needed something to feel right at that time in my life.  SO…I contacted my friend and we made another offer.  This time, being that the house had sat for a while, the sellers accepted and I totally bought the house!  MY house.  It was kinda awesome and kinda scary all at the same time.  I closed on November 24 and luckily I still had over a month left in my rental.  So, I got to planning.  Day of closing, I already had the wheels turning.  I am super lucky to have a great painter contact, so he was on the ball right away scraping popcorn ceilings and retexturing walls.  It took pretty much the month of December to transform this place, but it was totally worth it!  The cheapest house in Salado got a makeover.  So, because before and afters are super fun, I’ll start with the dining half of my living space.  (I said this place is small, y’all!  I wasn’t lying…I think 3 of my houses could fit into the 1 house we owned in Round Rock…fo realz!!)  So, onward…

DINING1

This is what I saw when I walked in. Popcorn ceilings, carpet, dark trim, dated light fixture…

DINING2

Kids playing day after closing! Mommy’s house was fun with no furniture!

DINING3

Adios, 1984…

DINING7

After planked ceiling (more on that later!) and flooring (yeah, that’s tile) got started…

So, at this point, I needed to make a decision because I wanted to order lighting for over the dining table…I hit up Overstock because they have never failed me!  I found this one first and thought it was pretty cool….I liked the idea.

DINING4

BUT THEN…I stumbled upon THIS one and we had a winner!

DINING6

Made me little nervous just ordering online without knowing how the size would work out, but I took a $218 chance and rolled with it.  BTW, $218 is a steal for this fixture because it rules.

DINING8

This was the day I walked in and felt a huge sigh of relief that my vision was actually evolving…I could finally start seeing myself in this place!

DINING9

Light went up! And it worked!  And it looked amazeballs!

DINING11

My Nawnee’s dining table got moved in! And it was the perfect fit. More on it later.

DINING12

And then the fun began!

SO…just because I like to keep things real.  That space becomes a catch all for everything from backpacks to hamster cages to computers.  However, my style is casual and my idea when decorating is always kid friendly and family centered.  I wouldn’t want it any other way.  I took this picture right before finishing this post because this is our everyday.  Our home.  One that we are filling with love and laughter and our own good vibes.  Peace out, y’all.

DINING13

5 comments

  1. Aunt Joan · September 18, 2015

    loved it today, jenn. keep ’em coming. aunt joan

    Like

  2. lifeasanangell · September 18, 2015

    Love!!! Ok so now I need to know where near Main you live. Are we neighbors? I want to see it in person!

    Like

  3. lifeasanangell · September 18, 2015

    L.O.V.E. I can’t wait to see more and now I’m wondering if we are neighbors???

    Like

  4. K.C. · September 18, 2015

    Quite a makeover! You have a great eye!!

    Like

  5. Allena · September 19, 2015

    Love how it turned out. Can’t wait to see more pictures. You 100% having an amazing eye for design – super jealous about that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

